Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The development of an SC1 removable si-anti-reflective-coating
Author(s): Shintaro Yamada; Iou-Sheng Ke; Charlotte Cutler; Li Cui; Paul LaBeaume; Daniel Greene; Bhooshan Popere; Chris Sullivan; JoAnne Leonard; Suzanne Coley; Sabrina Wong; Owendi Ongayi; Jim Cameron; Michael B. Clark; Thomas C. Fitzgibbons
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

A trilayer stack of spin-on-carbon (SOC), silicon anti-reflective coating (SiARC) and photoresist (PR) is often used to enable high resolution implant layers for integrated circuit manufacturing. Damage to substrates from SiARC removal using dry etching or aqueous hydrogen fluoride has increased the demand for innovative SiARC materials for implant lithography process. Wet strippable SiARCs (WS-SiARCs) capable of stripping under mild conditions such as SC1 (ammonium hydroxide/hydrogen peroxide/water) while maintaining key performance metrics of standard SiARCs is highly desirable. Minimizing the formation of Si-O-Si linkages by introducing organic crosslink sites was effective to impart SC1 solubility particularly after O2 dry etching. Incorporation of acidic groups onto the crosslinking site further improved SC1 solubility. A new siloxane polymer architecture that has SC1 active functionality in the polymer backbone was developed to further enhance SC1 solubility. A new SiARC formulation based on the new siloxane polymer achieved equivalent lithographic performances to a classic SiARC and SC1 strip rate >240Å/min under a relatively low concentration SC1 condition such as ammonium hydroxide/hydrogen peroxide/water=1/1/40.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 March 2018
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 10586, Advances in Patterning Materials and Processes XXXV, 105860L (13 March 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2297687
Show Author Affiliations
Shintaro Yamada, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Iou-Sheng Ke, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Charlotte Cutler, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Li Cui, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Paul LaBeaume, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Daniel Greene, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Bhooshan Popere, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Chris Sullivan, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
JoAnne Leonard, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Suzanne Coley, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Sabrina Wong, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Owendi Ongayi, The Dow Chemical Co. (Spain)
Jim Cameron, Dow Electronic Materials (United States)
Michael B. Clark, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States)
Thomas C. Fitzgibbons, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10586:
Advances in Patterning Materials and Processes XXXV
Christoph K. Hohle, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top