Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Measurement of light penetration of near-infrared laser at the lumbosacral nerves in rats
Author(s): Naoya Ishibashi; Hiroshi Shimoyama; Yuki Kawase; Shosaku Motohara; Takamitsu Okayama; Daisuke Niwa; Jun Koyama
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Photobiomodulation or low level laser therapy (LLLT) has been utilized in various areas of medical practice including pain relief, wound healing, and inflammation treatment. Some recent animal studies have reported that near-infrared laser irradiation to the lumbosacral nerves transcutateously relieves neuropathic pain by controlling activity of lumbosacral nerves. However, transcutaneous laser penetration to the nerves has not yet been fully elucidated. Our aim is to determine the light penetration to lumbosacral nerves when near-infrared laser was irradiated transcutateously to lumbosacral nerves. We implanted photodiodes near the lumbosacral nerves of rats and connected the photodiodes to an oscilloscope through an amplifier. Near-infrared lasers (wavelengths: 808 nm and 830 nm) were irradiated through the skin at 2, 5 and 10 W pulses (Duty 10%, 5 Hz) and outputs of photodiodes were collected. After irradiation, the depth of the photodiodes and the nerves from the skin surface were determined by micro-CT device. The result showed that the fluence rate at the lumbosacral nerves was 179±19.2 mW/cm2 and 232±20.7 mW/cm2 when the 808-nm and 830-nm laser was irradiated at 10 W respectively. These findings would be beneficial for following study of photobiomodulation.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 February 2018
PDF: 5 pages
Proc. SPIE 10477, Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy XIII, 1047704 (8 February 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2287613
Show Author Affiliations
Naoya Ishibashi, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)
Hiroshi Shimoyama, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)
Yuki Kawase, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)
Shosaku Motohara, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)
Takamitsu Okayama, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)
Daisuke Niwa, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)
Jun Koyama, Teijin Pharma Ltd. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10477:
Mechanisms of Photobiomodulation Therapy XIII
Michael R. Hamblin; James D. Carroll; Praveen Arany, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top