Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The ATHENA telescope and optics status
Author(s): Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Mark Ayre; Ivo Ferreira; Brian Shortt; Sebastiaan Fransen; Maximilien Collon; Giuseppe Vacanti; Nicolas Barriere; Boris Landgraf; Jeroen Haneveld; Coen van Baren; Karl-Heintz Zuknik; Desiree Della Monica Ferreira; Sonny Massahi; Finn Christensen; Michael Krumrey; Vadim Burwitz; Giovanni Pareschi; Daniele Spiga; Giuseppe Valsecchi; Dervis Vernani; Paul Oliver; André Seidel
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The work on the definition and technological preparation of the ATHENA (Advanced Telescope for High ENergy Astrophysics) mission continues to progress. In parallel to the study of the accommodation of the telescope, many aspects of the X-ray optics are being evolved further. The optics technology chosen for ATHENA is the Silicon Pore Optics (SPO), which hinges on technology spin-in from the semiconductor industry, and uses a modular approach to produce large effective area lightweight telescope optics with a good angular resolution. Both system studies and the technology developments are guided by ESA and implemented in industry, with participation of institutional partners. In this paper an overview of the current status of the telescope optics accommodation and technology development activities is provided.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 August 2017
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 10399, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII, 103990B (29 August 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2274776
Show Author Affiliations
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Mark Ayre, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Ivo Ferreira, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Brian Shortt, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Sebastiaan Fransen, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Maximilien Collon, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Nicolas Barriere, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Boris Landgraf, cosine B.V. (Netherlands)
Jeroen Haneveld, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Karl-Heintz Zuknik, OHB-System AG (Germany)
Desiree Della Monica Ferreira, DTU Space (Denmark)
Sonny Massahi, DTU Space (Denmark)
Finn Christensen, DTU Space (Denmark)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Giovanni Pareschi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Daniele Spiga, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Giuseppe Valsecchi, Media Lario Technologies S.r.l. (Italy)
Dervis Vernani, Thales Alenia Space Switzerland, Ltd. (Switzerland)
Paul Oliver, Teledyne e2v UK Ltd. (United Kingdom)
André Seidel, Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10399:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VIII
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top