Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Multi-watt passively Q-switched Yb:YAB/Cr:YAG microchip lasers
Author(s): Josep Maria Serres; Pavel A. Loiko; Xavier Mateos; Junhai Liu; Huaijing Zhang; Konstantin Yumashev; Uwe Griebner; Valentin Petrov; Magdalena Aguiló; Francesc Díaz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

A trigonal 5.6 at.% Yb:YAl3(BO3)4 (Yb:YAB) crystal is employed in continuous-wave (CW) and passively Q-switched microchip lasers pumped by a diode at 978 nm. Using a 3 mm-thick, c-cut Yb:YAB crystal, which has a higher pump absorption efficiency, efficient CW microchip laser operation is demonstrated. This laser generated a maximum output power of 7.18 W at 1041–1044 nm with a slope efficiency η of 67% (with respect to the absorbed pump power) and an almost diffraction-limited beam, M2 x,y < 1.1. Inserting a Cr:YAG saturable absorber, stable passive Q-switching of the Yb:YAB microchip laser was obtained. The maximum average output power from the Yb:YAB/Cr:YAG laser reached 2.82 W at 1042 nm with η = 53% and a conversion efficiency with respect to the CW mode of 65% (when using a 0.7 mm-thick Cr:YAG). The latter corresponded to a pulse duration and energy of 7.1 ns / 47 μJ at a pulse repetition rate (PRR) of 60 kHz. Using a 1.3 mm-thick Cr:YAG, 2.02 W were achieved at 1041 nm corresponding to η = 38%. The pulse characteristics were 4.9 ns / 83 μJ at PRR = 24.3 kHz and the maximum peak power reached 17 kW. Yb:YAB crystals are very promising for compact sub-ns power-scalable microchip lasers.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 February 2017
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 10082, Solid State Lasers XXVI: Technology and Devices, 100820T (17 February 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2253682
Show Author Affiliations
Josep Maria Serres, Univ. Rovira i Virgili (Spain)
Pavel A. Loiko, IMTO Univ. (Russian Federation)
Xavier Mateos, Univ. Rovira i Virgili (Spain)
Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy (Germany)
Junhai Liu, Qingdao Univ. (China)
Huaijing Zhang, Shandong Univ. (China)
Konstantin Yumashev, Belarusian National Technical Univ. (Belarus)
Uwe Griebner, Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy (Germany)
Valentin Petrov, Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy (Germany)
Magdalena Aguiló, Univ. Rovira i Virgili (Spain)
Francesc Díaz, Univ. Rovira i Virgili (Spain)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10082:
Solid State Lasers XXVI: Technology and Devices
W. Andrew Clarkson; Ramesh K. Shori, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top