Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Milestones toward Majorana-based quantum computing (Conference Presentation)
Author(s): Ryan V. Mishmash; David Aasen; Michael Hell; Andrew Higginbotham; Jeroen Danon; Martin Leijnse; Thomas S. Jespersen; Joshua A. Folk; Charles M. Marcus; Karsten Flensberg; Jason Alicea
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We introduce a scheme for preparation, manipulation, and readout of Majorana zero modes in semiconducting wires with mesoscopic superconducting islands. Our approach synthesizes recent advances in materials growth with tools commonly used in quantum-dot experiments, including gate-control of tunnel barriers and Coulomb effects, charge sensing, and charge pumping. We outline a sequence of milestones interpolating between zero-mode detection and quantum computing that includes (1) detection of fusion rules for non-Abelian anyons using either proximal charge sensors or pumped current; (2) validation of a prototype topological qubit; and (3) demonstration of non-Abelian statistics by braiding in a branched geometry. The first two milestones require only a single wire with two islands, and additionally enable sensitive measurements of the system’s excitation gap, quasiparticle poisoning rates, residual Majorana zero-mode splittings, and topological-qubit coherence times. These pre-braiding experiments can be adapted to other manipulation and readout schemes as well.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 November 2016
PDF: 1 pages
Proc. SPIE 9931, Spintronics IX, 99313L (4 November 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2241102
Show Author Affiliations
Ryan V. Mishmash, California Institute of Technology (United States)
David Aasen, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Michael Hell, Lund Univ. (Sweden)
Andrew Higginbotham, Harvard Univ. (United States)
Jeroen Danon, Niels Bohr Institute (Denmark)
Martin Leijnse, Lund Univ. (Sweden)
Thomas S. Jespersen, Niels Bohr Institute (Denmark)
Joshua A. Folk, Niels Bohr Institute (Denmark)
Charles M. Marcus, Niels Bohr Institute (Denmark)
Karsten Flensberg, Niels Bohr Institute (Denmark)
Jason Alicea, California Institute of Technology (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9931:
Spintronics IX
Henri-Jean Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe; Manijeh Razeghi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top