Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Comparative analysis of energy-efficient long wavebands vertical cavity surface emitting lasers
Author(s): Sandeep Dahiya; Hemant Kumar Mishra; Suresh Kumar; Brajesh Kumar Kaushik
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) is an important laser source for their evident plentiful applications in optical communication. The present investigation reports a comparison of the modeling and optimization of long wavelengths 1310 nm and 1550 nm high speed short cavity VCSEL for continuous wave operation at various temperature (283-3230K) for various diameters. The continuous wave lasing is demonstrated for the device diameter from 2 to 5 μm with threshold current of 1.07-1.33 mA with threshold power consumption of 1.86-2.57 mW for 1310 nm and threshold current of 0.94-1.24 mA and threshold power consumption 1.67-2.1 mW for 1550 nm VCSEL. The results demonstrate that the threshold current, peak emitted power and power consumption increases with the increase in device diameter. The results confirm that VCSELs with 2 μm diameter is most suitable to achieve energy-efficient operation. Although rollover current increases with the diameter, but, due to the advantage of lower threshold current and power consumption, VCSEL having smaller diameter is best suited. The power conversion efficiency for proposed long wavelength VCSELs is approximately 50% which is extremely useful for low power applications. The proposed VCSELs are suitable for very short reach (<2 m) optical interconnects such as chip-to-chip and board-to-board communication in high performance computers.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 September 2016
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 9931, Spintronics IX, 99310D (26 September 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2237617
Show Author Affiliations
Sandeep Dahiya, BPS Mahila Vishwavidyalaya (India)
Hemant Kumar Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (India)
Suresh Kumar, Maharshi Dayanand Univ. Rohtak (India)
Brajesh Kumar Kaushik, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (India)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9931:
Spintronics IX
Henri-Jean Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe; Manijeh Razeghi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top