Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Performance assessment of different pulse reconstruction algorithms for the ATHENA X-ray Integral Field Unit
Author(s): Philippe Peille; Maria Teresa Ceballos; Beatriz Cobo; Joern Wilms; Simon Bandler; Stephen J. Smith; Thomas Dauser; Thorsten Brand; Roland den Hartog; Jelle de Plaa; Didier Barret; Jan-Willem den Herder; Luigi Piro; Xavier Barcons; Etienne Pointecouteau
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The X-ray Integral Field Unit (X-IFU) microcalorimeter, on-board Athena, with its focal plane comprising 3840 Transition Edge Sensors (TESs) operating at 90 mK, will provide unprecedented spectral-imaging capability in the 0.2-12 keV energy range. It will rely on the on-board digital processing of current pulses induced by the heat deposited in the TES absorber, as to recover the energy of each individual events. Assessing the capabilities of the pulse reconstruction is required to understand the overall scientific performance of the X-IFU, notably in terms of energy resolution degradation with both increasing energies and count rates. Using synthetic data streams generated by the X-IFU End-to-End simulator, we present here a comprehensive benchmark of various pulse reconstruction techniques, ranging from standard optimal filtering to more advanced algorithms based on noise covariance matrices. Beside deriving the spectral resolution achieved by the different algorithms, a first assessment of the computing power and ground calibration needs is presented. Overall, all methods show similar performances, with the reconstruction based on noise covariance matrices showing the best improvement with respect to the standard optimal filtering technique. Due to prohibitive calibration needs, this method might however not be applicable to the X-IFU and the best compromise currently appears to be the so-called resistance space analysis which also features very promising high count rate capabilities.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 July 2016
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 9905, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2016: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray, 99055W (11 July 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2232011
Show Author Affiliations
Philippe Peille, IRAP CNRS (France)
Maria Teresa Ceballos, Instituto de Física de Cantabria (Spain)
Beatriz Cobo, Instituto de Física de Cantabria (Spain)
Joern Wilms, Univ. of Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)
Simon Bandler, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Stephen J. Smith, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Thomas Dauser, Univ. of Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)
Thorsten Brand, Univ. of Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)
Roland den Hartog, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Jelle de Plaa, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Didier Barret, IRAP CNRS (France)
Jan-Willem den Herder, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Luigi Piro, Istituto di Astrofísica e Planetologia Spaziali (Italy)
Xavier Barcons, Instituto de Física de Cantabria (Spain)
Etienne Pointecouteau, IRAP CNRS (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9905:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2016: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray
Jan-Willem A. den Herder; Tadayuki Takahashi; Marshall Bautz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top