Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Results of using permanent magnets to suppress Josephson noise in the KAPPa SIS receiver
Author(s): Caleb H. Wheeler; Marko Neric; Christopher E. Groppi; Matthew Underhill; Hamdi Mani; Sander Weinreb; Damon S. Russell; Jacob W. Kooi; Arthur W. Lichtenberger; Christopher K. Walker; Craig Kulesa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present the results from the magnetic field generation within the Kilopixel Array Pathfinder Project (KAPPa) instrument. The KAPPa instrument is a terahertz heterodyne receiver using a Superconducting-Insulating- Superconducting (SIS) mixers. To improve performance, SIS mixers require a magnetic field to suppress Josephson noise. The KAPPa test receiver can house a tunable electromagnet used to optimize the applied magnetic field. The receiver is also capable of accommodating a permanent magnet that applies a fixed field. Our permanent magnet design uses off-the-shelf neodymium permanent magnets and then reshapes the magnetic field using machined steel concentrators. These concentrators allow the use of an unmachined permanent magnet in the back of the detector block while two small posts provide the required magnetic field across the SIS junction in the detector cavity. The KAPPa test receiver is uniquely suited to compare the permanent magnet and electromagnet receiver performance. The current work includes our design of a ‘U’ shaped permanent magnet, the testing and calibration procedure for the permanent magnet, and the overall results of the performance comparison between the electromagnet and the permanent magnet counterpart.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 July 2016
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 9914, Millimeter, Submillimeter, and Far-Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation for Astronomy VIII, 99141W (20 July 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2231358
Show Author Affiliations
Caleb H. Wheeler, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Marko Neric, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Christopher E. Groppi, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Matthew Underhill, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Hamdi Mani, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Sander Weinreb, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Damon S. Russell, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jacob W. Kooi, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Arthur W. Lichtenberger, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Christopher K. Walker, Steward Observatory, The Univ. of Arizona (United States)
Craig Kulesa, Steward Observatory, The Univ. of Arizona (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9914:
Millimeter, Submillimeter, and Far-Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation for Astronomy VIII
Wayne S. Holland; Jonas Zmuidzinas, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top