Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Fabrication of metasurface-based infrared absorber structures using direct laser write lithography
Author(s): Ihar Fanyaeu; Vygantas Mizeikis
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We report fabrication and optical properties of ultra-thin polarization-invariant electromagnetic absorber metasurface for infra-red spectral. The absorber structure, which uses three-dimensional architecture is based on single-turn metallic helices arranged into a periodic square lattice on a metallic substrate, is expected to exhibit total resonant absorption due to balanced coupling between resonances of the helices. The structure was designed using numerical simulations aiming to tune the total absorption resonance to infra-red wavelength range by appropriately downscaling the unit cell of the structure, and taking into account dielectric dispersion and losses of the metal. The designed structures were subsequently fabricated using femtosecond direct laser write technique in a dielectric photoresist, and subsequent metallisation by gold sputtering. In accordance with the expectations, the structure was found to exhibit resonant absorption centred near the wavelength of 6 - 9 µm, with peak absorption in excess of 82%. The absorber metasurface may be applied in various areas of science and technology, such as harvesting infra-red radiation in thermal detectors and energy converters.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 March 2016
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 9759, Advanced Fabrication Technologies for Micro/Nano Optics and Photonics IX, 975917 (14 March 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2211961
Show Author Affiliations
Ihar Fanyaeu, Shizuoka Univ. (Japan)
Francisk Skorina Gomel State Univ. (Belarus)
Vygantas Mizeikis, Shizuoka Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9759:
Advanced Fabrication Technologies for Micro/Nano Optics and Photonics IX
Georg von Freymann; Winston V. Schoenfeld; Raymond C. Rumpf, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top