Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Fabrication of waveguide spatial light modulators via femtosecond laser micromachining
Author(s): Nickolaos Savidis; Sundeep Jolly; Bianca Datta; Thrasyvoulos Karydis; V. Michael Bove
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We have previously introduced an anisotropic leaky-mode modulator as a waveguide-based, acousto-optic solution for spatial light modulation in holographic video display systems. Waveguide fabrication for these and similar surface acoustic wave devices relies on proton exchange of a lithium niobate substrate, which involves the immersion of the substrate in an acid melt. While simple and effective, waveguide depth and index profiles resulting from proton exchange are often non-uniform over the device length or inconsistent between waveguides fabricated at different times using the same melt and annealing parameters. In contrast to proton exchange, direct writing of waveguides has the appeal of simplifying fabrication (as these methods are inherently maskless) and the potential of fine and consistent control over waveguide depth and index profiles. In this paper, we explore femtosecond laser micromachining as an alternative to proton exchange in the fabrication of waveguides for anisotropic leaky-mode modulators.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 March 2016
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 9759, Advanced Fabrication Technologies for Micro/Nano Optics and Photonics IX, 97590R (16 March 2016); doi: 10.1117/12.2209651
Show Author Affiliations
Nickolaos Savidis, MIT Media Lab. (United States)
Sundeep Jolly, MIT Media Lab. (United States)
Bianca Datta, MIT Media Lab. (United States)
Thrasyvoulos Karydis, MIT Media Lab. (United States)
V. Michael Bove, MIT Media Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9759:
Advanced Fabrication Technologies for Micro/Nano Optics and Photonics IX
Georg von Freymann; Winston V. Schoenfeld; Raymond C. Rumpf, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top