Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Silicon pore optics development for ATHENA
Author(s): Maximilien J. Collon; Giuseppe Vacanti; Ramses Günther; Alex Yanson; Nicolas Barrière; Boris Landgraf; Mark Vervest; Abdelhakim Chatbi; Marco W. Beijersbergen; Marcos Bavdaz; Eric Wille; Jeroen Haneveld; Arenda Koelewijn; Anne Leenstra; Maurice Wijnperle; Coen van Baren; Peter Müller; Michael Krumrey; Vadim Burwitz; Giovanni Pareschi; Paolo Conconi; Finn E. Christensen
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

The ATHENA mission, a European large (L) class X-ray observatory to be launched in 2028, will essentially consist of an X-ray lens and two focal plane instruments. The lens, based on a Wolter-I type double reflection grazing incidence angle design, will be very large (~ 3 m in diameter) to meet the science requirements of large effective area (1-2 m2 at a few keV) at a focal length of 12 m. To meet the high angular resolution (5 arc seconds) requirement the X-ray lens will also need to be very accurate. Silicon Pore Optics (SPO) technology has been invented to enable building such a lens and thus enabling the ATHENA mission. We will report in this paper on the latest status of the development, including details of X-ray test campaigns.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 September 2015
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 9603, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VII, 96030K (4 September 2015); doi: 10.1117/12.2188988
Show Author Affiliations
Maximilien J. Collon, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Giuseppe Vacanti, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Ramses Günther, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Alex Yanson, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Nicolas Barrière, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Boris Landgraf, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Mark Vervest, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Abdelhakim Chatbi, cosine Science & Computing B.V. (Netherlands)
Marco W. Beijersbergen, cosine Research B.V. (Netherlands)
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Eric Wille, European Space Research and Technology Ctr. (Netherlands)
Jeroen Haneveld, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Arenda Koelewijn, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Anne Leenstra, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Maurice Wijnperle, Micronit Microfluidics B.V. (Netherlands)
Coen van Baren, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Peter Müller, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Michael Krumrey, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Vadim Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Giovanni Pareschi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Paolo Conconi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
Finn E. Christensen, DTU Space (Denmark)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9603:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy VII
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top