Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Anisotropic impedance surfaces for enhanced antenna isolation
Author(s): Joseph A. Miragliotta; David Shrekenhamer; Daniel F. Sievenpiper
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Anisotropic impedance surfaces, which include metasurfaces and high impedance surfaces (HIS), can be designed to control the amplitude and propagation direction of surface electromagnetic waves and are an effective means to enhance the isolation between antennas that share a common ground plane. To date, the majority of metastructures that have been designed for antenna isolation have relied on an isotropic distribution of unit cells that possess a stop band that inhibits the propagation of surface waves between neighboring antennas. A less common approach to isolation has been through the design of a metasurface that enables the re-direction of surface waves away from the location of the antenna structure, which effectively limits the coupling. In this paper, we discuss results from our computational investigation associated with improving antenna isolation through the use of an anisotropic metastructure. Simulated results associated with the isolation performance of two simple, but similar, anisotropic structures are compared to the corresponding results from a broadband magnetic radar absorbing materials (magRAM).

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 September 2015
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 9544, Metamaterials, Metadevices, and Metasystems 2015, 954425 (1 September 2015); doi: 10.1117/12.2188450
Show Author Affiliations
Joseph A. Miragliotta, Johns Hopkins Univ. Applied Physics Lab., LLC (United States)
David Shrekenhamer, Johns Hopkins Univ. Applied Physics Lab., LLC (United States)
Daniel F. Sievenpiper, Univ. of California, San Diego (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9544:
Metamaterials, Metadevices, and Metasystems 2015
Nader Engheta; Mikhail A. Noginov; Nikolay I. Zheludev, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top