Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

ATLAST ULE mirror segment performance analytical predictions based on thermally induced distortions
Author(s): Michael J. Eisenhower; Lester M. Cohen; Lee D. Feinberg; Gary W. Matthews; Joel A. Nissen; Sang C. Park; Hume L. Peabody
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Advanced Technology Large-Aperture Space Telescope (ATLAST) is a concept for a 9.2 m aperture space-borne observatory operating across the UV/Optical/NIR spectra. The primary mirror for ATLAST is a segmented architecture with pico-meter class wavefront stability. Due to its extraordinarily low coefficient of thermal expansion, a leading candidate for the primary mirror substrate is Corning’s ULE® titania-silicate glass. The ATLAST ULE® mirror substrates will be maintained at ‘room temperature’ during on orbit flight operations minimizing the need for compensation of mirror deformation between the manufacturing temperature and the operational temperatures. This approach requires active thermal management to maintain operational temperature while on orbit. Furthermore, the active thermal control must be sufficiently stable to prevent time-varying thermally induced distortions in the mirror substrates. This paper describes a conceptual thermal management system for the ATLAST 9.2 m segmented mirror architecture that maintains the wavefront stability to less than 10 pico-meters/10 minutes RMS. Thermal and finite element models, analytical techniques, accuracies involved in solving the mirror figure errors, and early findings from the thermal and thermal-distortion analyses are presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 22 September 2015
PDF: 18 pages
Proc. SPIE 9602, UV/Optical/IR Space Telescopes and Instruments: Innovative Technologies and Concepts VII, 96020A (22 September 2015); doi: 10.1117/12.2188008
Show Author Affiliations
Michael J. Eisenhower, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Lester M. Cohen, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Lee D. Feinberg, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Gary W. Matthews, Harris Corp. (United States)
Joel A. Nissen, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Sang C. Park, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Hume L. Peabody, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9602:
UV/Optical/IR Space Telescopes and Instruments: Innovative Technologies and Concepts VII
Howard A. MacEwen; James B. Breckinridge, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top