Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Critical analysis on degradation mechanism of dye-sensitized solar cells
Author(s): Mukhzeer Mohamad Shahimin; Suriati Suhaimi; Mohd Halim Abd Wahid; Vithyacharan Retnasamy; Nor Azura Malini Ahmad Hambali; Ali Hussain Reshak
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

This paper reports on a précis of degradation mechanism for dye-sensitized solar cell (DSSCs). The review indicates progress in the understanding of degradation mechanism, in particular, the large improvement in the analysis of the materials used in DSSCs. The paper discussed on the stability issues of the dye, advancement of the photoelectrode film lifetime, changes in the electrolyte components and degradation analysis of the counter electrode. The photoelectrochemical parameters were evaluated in view of the possible degradation routes via open circuit voltage (Voc), short circuit current (Isc), fill factor (FF) and overall conversion efficiency (η) from the current-voltage curve. This analysis covers several types of materials that have paved the way for better-performing solar cells and directly influenced the stability and reliability of DSSCs. The new research trend together with the previous research has been highlighted to examine the key challenges faced in developing the ultimate DSSCs.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 November 2015
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 9563, Reliability of Photovoltaic Cells, Modules, Components, and Systems VIII, 95630W (13 November 2015); doi: 10.1117/12.2186968
Show Author Affiliations
Mukhzeer Mohamad Shahimin, Univ. Malaysia Perlis (Malaysia)
Suriati Suhaimi, Univ. Malaysia Perlis (Malaysia)
Mohd Halim Abd Wahid, Univ. Malaysia Perlis (Malaysia)
Vithyacharan Retnasamy, Univ. Malaysia Perlis (Malaysia)
Nor Azura Malini Ahmad Hambali, Univ. Malaysia Perlis (Malaysia)
Ali Hussain Reshak, Univ. of West Bohemia (Czech Republic)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9563:
Reliability of Photovoltaic Cells, Modules, Components, and Systems VIII
Neelkanth G. Dhere; John H. Wohlgemuth; Rebecca Jones-Albertus, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top