Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Comparison of terahertz technologies for detection and identification of explosives
Author(s): René Beigang; Sandra G. Biedron; Slawomir Dyjak; Frank Ellrich; Magnus W. Haakestad; Daniel Hübsch; Tolga Kartaloglu; Ekmel Ozbay; Frank Ospald; Norbert Palka; Uroš Puc; Elżbieta Czerwińska; Asaf B. Sahin; Aleksander Sešek; Janez Trontelj; Andrej Švigelj; Hakan Altan; Arthur D. van Rheenen; Michał Walczakowski
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present results on the comparison of different THz technologies for the detection and identification of a variety of explosives from our laboratory tests that were carried out in the framework of NATO SET-193 “THz technology for stand-off detection of explosives: from laboratory spectroscopy to detection in the field” under the same controlled conditions. Several laser-pumped pulsed broadband THz time-domain spectroscopy (TDS) systems as well as one electronic frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) device recorded THz spectra in transmission and/or reflection.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 May 2014
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 9102, Terahertz Physics, Devices, and Systems VIII: Advanced Applications in Industry and Defense, 91020C (21 May 2014); doi: 10.1117/12.2050367
Show Author Affiliations
René Beigang, Technische Univ. Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Sandra G. Biedron, Colorado State Univ. (United States)
Slawomir Dyjak, Military Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Frank Ellrich, Fraunhofer-Institut für Physikalische Messtechnik (Germany)
Magnus W. Haakestad, Norwegian Defence Research Establishment (Norway)
Daniel Hübsch, HÜBNER GmbH & Co. KG (Germany)
Tolga Kartaloglu, Bilkent Univ. (Turkey)
Ekmel Ozbay, Bilkent Univ. (Turkey)
Frank Ospald, Technische Univ. Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Norbert Palka, Military Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Uroš Puc, Jožef Stefan Institute (Slovenia)
Elżbieta Czerwińska, Military Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Asaf B. Sahin, Yildirim Beyazit Univ. (Turkey)
Aleksander Sešek, Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Janez Trontelj, Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Andrej Švigelj, Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Hakan Altan, Middle East Technical Univ. (Turkey)
Arthur D. van Rheenen, Norwegian Defence Research Establishment (Norway)
Michał Walczakowski, Military Univ. of Technology (Poland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 9102:
Terahertz Physics, Devices, and Systems VIII: Advanced Applications in Industry and Defense
Mehdi F. Anwar; Thomas W. Crowe; Tariq Manzur, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top