Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Characterization of Diamond-like Carbon (DLC) films deposited by RF ICP PECVD method
Author(s): Waldemar Oleszkiewicz; Wojciech Kijaszek; Jacek Gryglewicz; Adrian Zakrzewski; Krzysztof Gajewski; Daniel Kopiec; Paulina Kamyczek; Ewa Popko; Marek Tłaczała
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The work presents the results of a research carried out with Plasmalab Plus 100 system, manufactured by Oxford Instruments Company. The system was configured for deposition of diamond-like carbon films by ICP PECVD method. The deposition processes were carried out in CH4 or CH4/H2 atmosphere and the state of the plasma was investigated by the OES method. The RF plasma was capacitively coupled by 13.56 MHz generator with supporting ICP generator (13.56 Mhz). The deposition processes were conducted in constant value of RF generator’s power and resultant value of the DC Bias. The power values of RF generator was set at 70 W and the power values of ICP generator was set at 300 W. In this work we focus on the influence of DLC film’s thickness on optical, electrical and structural properties of the deposited DLC films. The quality of deposited DLC layers was examined by the Raman spectroscopy, AFM microscopy and spectroscopic ellipsometry. In the investigated DLC films the calculated sp3 content was ranging from 60 % to 70 %. The films were characterized by the refractive index ranging from 2.03 to 2.1 and extinction coefficient ranging from 0.09 to 0.12.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 July 2013
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 8902, Electron Technology Conference 2013, 89022H (25 July 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2031066
Show Author Affiliations
Waldemar Oleszkiewicz, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Wojciech Kijaszek, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Jacek Gryglewicz, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Adrian Zakrzewski, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Krzysztof Gajewski, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Daniel Kopiec, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Paulina Kamyczek, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Ewa Popko, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Marek Tłaczała, Wrocław Univ. of Technology (Poland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8902:
Electron Technology Conference 2013
Pawel Szczepanski; Ryszard Kisiel; Ryszard S. Romaniuk, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top