Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Novel optical strategies for biodetection
Author(s): Rama Murthy Sakamuri; Mark S. Wolfenden; Aaron S. Anderson; Basil I. Swanson; Jurgen S. Schmidt; Harshini Mukundan
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Although bio-detection strategies have significantly evolved in the past decade, they still suffer from many disadvantages. For one, current approaches still require confirmation of pathogen viability by culture, which is the ‘gold-standard’ method, and can take several days to result. Second, current methods typically target protein and nucleic acid signatures and cannot be applied to other biochemical categories of biomarkers (e.g.; lipidated sugars). Lipidated sugars (e.g.; lipopolysaccharide, lipoarabinomannan) are bacterial virulence factors that are significant to pathogenicity. Herein, we present two different optical strategies for biodetection to address these two limitations. We have exploited bacterial iron sequestration mechanisms to develop a simple, specific assay for the selective detection of viable bacteria, without the need for culture. We are currently working on the use of this technology for the differential detection of two different bacteria, using siderophores. Second, we have developed a novel strategy termed ‘membrane insertion’ for the detection of amphiphilic biomarkers (e.g. lipidated glycans) that cannot be detected by conventional approaches. We have extended this technology to the detection of small molecule amphiphilic virulence factors, such as phenolic glycolipid-1 from leprosy, which could not be directly detected before. Together, these strategies address two critical limitations in current biodetection approaches. We are currently working on the optimization of these methods, and their extension to real-world clinical samples.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 September 2013
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 8812, Biosensing and Nanomedicine VI, 881209 (11 September 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2029605
Show Author Affiliations
Rama Murthy Sakamuri, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Mark S. Wolfenden, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Aaron S. Anderson, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Basil I. Swanson, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Jurgen S. Schmidt, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)
Harshini Mukundan, Los Alamos National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8812:
Biosensing and Nanomedicine VI
Hooman Mohseni; Massoud H. Agahi; Manijeh Razeghi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top