Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Formation of nanoscale structures by inductively coupled plasma etching
Author(s): Colin C. Welch; Deirdre L. Olynick; Zuwei Liu; Anders Holmberg; Christophe Peroz; Alex P. G. Robinson; M. David Henry; Axel Scherer; Thomas Mollenhauer; Vince Genova; Doris K. T. Ng
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

This paper will review the top down technique of ICP etching for the formation of nanometer scale structures. The increased difficulties of nanoscale etching will be described. However it will be shown and discussed that inductively coupled plasma (ICP) technology is well able to cope with the higher end of the nanoscale: features from 100nm down to about 40nm are relatively easy with current ICP technology. It is the ability of ICP to operate at low pressure yet with high plasma density and low (controllable) DC bias that helps greatly compared to simple reactive ion etching (RIE) and, though continual feature size reduction is increasingly challenging, improvements to ICP technology as well as improvements in masking are enabling sub-10nm features to be reached. Nanoscale ICP etching results will be illustrated in a range of materials and technologies. Techniques to facilitate etching (such as the use of cryogenic temperatures) and techniques to improve the mask performance will be described and illustrated.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 January 2013
PDF: 19 pages
Proc. SPIE 8700, International Conference Micro- and Nano-Electronics 2012, 870002 (10 January 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2017609
Show Author Affiliations
Colin C. Welch, Oxford Instruments (United Kingdom)
Deirdre L. Olynick, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Zuwei Liu, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Anders Holmberg, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Christophe Peroz, aBeam Technologies, Inc. (United States)
Alex P. G. Robinson, The Univ. of Birmingham (United Kingdom)
M. David Henry, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
Axel Scherer, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Thomas Mollenhauer, AMO GmbH (Germany)
Vince Genova, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Doris K. T. Ng, A*STAR - Data Storage Institute (Singapore)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8700:
International Conference Micro- and Nano-Electronics 2012
Alexander A. Orlikovsky, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top