Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

GaN-based vertical cavity lasers with semiconductor/dielectric and all dielectric reflectors
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

GaN-based vertical cavity structures containing bottom AlN/GaN DBRs with top dielectric DBRs on freestanding c-GaN and all dielectric DBRs on GaN on c-sapphire were investigated. Epitaxial lateral overgrowth (ELO) technique allowed the use of both top and bottom all dielectric reflector stacks without substrate removal and the fabrication of the active region containing InGaN multiple quantum wells entirely on the nearly defect-free laterally grown wing regions to avoid nonradiative centers caused by extended and point defects. Compared with the cavity containing hybrid-DBRs on freestanding GaN, the cavity with all dielectric DBRs exhibited quality factors up to 1200 at high optical excitation and an order of magnitude lower stimulated emission threshold density (nearly 5 μJ/cm2). Vertical to lateral growth ratio for ELO could be enhanced up to 5 by increasing the V/III ratio and employment of NH3 modulation, which minimizes the use of dry etching to reduce the cavity thickness and therefore is promising for high quality vertical cavities with all dielectric DBRs.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 March 2013
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 8625, Gallium Nitride Materials and Devices VIII, 86252F (4 March 2013); doi: 10.1117/12.2005442
Show Author Affiliations
F. Zhang, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (United States)
S. Okur, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (United States)
S. Hafiz, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (United States)
V. Avrutin, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (United States)
Ü. Özgür, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (United States)
H. Morkoç, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8625:
Gallium Nitride Materials and Devices VIII
Jen-Inn Chyi; Yasushi Nanishi; Hadis Morkoç; Joachim Piprek; Euijoon Yoon; Hiroshi Fujioka, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top