Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

X-ray study of a test quadrant of the SODART telescopes using the expanded beam x-ray optics facility at the Daresbury synchrotron
Author(s): Finn Erland Christensen; Allan Hornstrup; Peter K. Frederiksen; Carl Budtz-Joergensen; Salim Abdali; Per Jonasson; P. Grundsoe; Josef Polny; Niels J. Westergaard; Hans Ulrich Noergaard-Nielsen; Herbert W. Schnopper; Konstantin N. Borozdin; Christopher J. Hall; Robert A. Lewis
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The imaging properties of a test model of the SODART telescopes have been studied using an expanded beam X-ray facility at the Daresbury synchrotron. The encircled power and the point spread function at three energies 6.627 keV, 8.837 keV and 11.046 keV have been measured using 1D and 2D position sensitive detectors. The data have been used to calculate the Half Power Diameter (HPD) for three different SODART focal plane detectors. The High Energy Proportional Counter (HEPC), the Low Energy Proportional Counter (LEPC) and the 19 element solid state array detector (SIXA). At 6.627 keV and 8.837 keV the HPD is 2.5 - 3.0 arcmin for all detectors whereas it is somewhat larger at 11.046 keV for HEPC and LEPC but essentially unchanged for SIXA. Finally, the data are used to point to improvements that can be introduced during the manufacture of the flight telescopes.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 November 1994
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 2279, Advances in Multilayer and Grazing Incidence X-Ray/EUV/FUV Optics, (11 November 1994); doi: 10.1117/12.193176
Show Author Affiliations
Finn Erland Christensen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Allan Hornstrup, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Peter K. Frederiksen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Carl Budtz-Joergensen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Salim Abdali, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Per Jonasson, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
P. Grundsoe, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Josef Polny, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Niels J. Westergaard, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Hans Ulrich Noergaard-Nielsen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Herbert W. Schnopper, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Konstantin N. Borozdin, Space Research Institute (IKI) (Russia)
Christopher J. Hall, Daresbury Synchrotron Radiation Facility (United Kingdom)
Robert A. Lewis, Daresbury Synchrotron Radiation Facility (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2279:
Advances in Multilayer and Grazing Incidence X-Ray/EUV/FUV Optics
Richard B. Hoover; Arthur B. C. Walker Jr., Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top