Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Charge collection in a-Si:H/a-Si1-xCx multilayers photodetectors
Author(s): Tao Jing; J. C. Delgado; J. Bertomeu; J. Drewray; Wan Shick Hong; H. Lee; Selig N. Kaplan; Ali Mireshghi; Victor Perez-Mendez
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Amorphous semiconductors have been used as thin film transistor (TFT), solar cell, phototransistors. In this paper we study the charge collected properties of a-Si:H/a-Si1-xCx:H multilayer pin photodiode. In a-Si:H pin photodiode, the photogenerated carriers can be totally collected under strong electric field under reverse bias. However, our measurements show that in the a-Si:H/a-Si1-xCx:H multilayer pin photodiode photogenerated electrons and holes drift toward the electrodes under a certain bias, the total collected charge shows no saturation with bias and exhibits a continuous increas with reverse bias. We classify that the device works at two regions. In region I, the device behaves like a photodiode. This charge collection efficiency drop from theoretical value may indicate charge capture or confinement at the interfaces and trapping at the a-Si:H potential wells. These charges trapped or confined can be released at the interface and quantum well at higher electric field. In region II, above a critical bias voltage, the device works as a breakdown diode with a series photosensitive resistor which contributes higher collection efficiency, namely optical gain greater than unity.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 October 1994
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 2364, Second International Conference on Thin Film Physics and Applications, (26 October 1994); doi: 10.1117/12.190778
Show Author Affiliations
Tao Jing, Lockheed Martin Fairchild Sys. (United States)
J. C. Delgado, Univ. de Barcelona (Spain)
J. Bertomeu, Univ. de Barcelona (Spain)
J. Drewray, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)
Wan Shick Hong, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)
H. Lee, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)
Selig N. Kaplan, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)
Ali Mireshghi, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)
Victor Perez-Mendez, Lawrence Berkeley Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2364:
Second International Conference on Thin Film Physics and Applications
Shixun Zhou; Yongling Wang; Yi-Xin Chen; Shuzheng Mao, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top