Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Low-threshold YBCO thin film removal
Author(s): Anton V. Kandidov; Boris I. Seleznev; A. S. Kovalev; A. A. Blyablin; A. M. Popov
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The exposure of the back side of the YBCO thin film by one laser pulse (fluence 0.05 J/cm2) passed through the transparent substrate SrTiO3 leads to the partial removal of the irradiated film parts. The thickness of the residual layer does not exceed 50 nm and decreases with the increase of laser fluence. At 0.1 J/cm2 the complete removal of the irradiated film parts take place. Numerical calculations show that the temperature arising in the film is about 600 degree(s)C, this is significantly below the melting temperature of YBCO compound. The film removal occurs possible due to thermal tension arising in the film and leading to its burst. The possibility of the partial removal may be explained by the shift of the temperature maximum near which the burst occurs into the film during the laser pulse The position of the temperature maximum at the end of laser pulse is in good agreement with the thickness of the residual layer. Possible applications of this low threshold thin film removal for the fabrication of devices based on high-temperature superconductors are discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 7 September 1994
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 2207, Laser Materials Processing: Industrial and Microelectronics Applications, (7 September 1994); doi: 10.1117/12.184709
Show Author Affiliations
Anton V. Kandidov, Moscow State Univ. (Russia)
Boris I. Seleznev, Moscow State Univ. (Russia)
A. S. Kovalev, Moscow State Univ. (Russia)
A. A. Blyablin, Moscow State Univ. (Russia)
A. M. Popov, Moscow State Univ. (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2207:
Laser Materials Processing: Industrial and Microelectronics Applications
Eckhard Beyer; Maichi Cantello; Aldo V. La Rocca; Lucien Diego Laude; Flemming O. Olsen; Gerd Sepold, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top