Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Fabrication and characterization of a micromachined deformable mirror for adaptive optics applications
Author(s): Linda M. Miller; Michael L. Agronin; Randall K. Bartman; William J. Kaiser; Thomas W. Kenny; Robert L. Norton; Erika C. Vote
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

A novel micromachined electrostatically controlled deformable mirror has been fabricated and characterized. This device combines the fields of microinstruments, adaptive optics and controls to form a silicon-based mirror assembly that is relatively simple to process, inexpensive, lightweight, and integrable with drive and sensing electronics. Electrostatic control of a thin membrane mirror is demonstrated with low voltage actuation and without the need for complex construction of PZT or other translator-type arrays. In addition, the low- stress Si-rich SixNy film used as the deformable membrane mirror is thermally matched to the silicon supporting frame. Custom design of the mirror shape can be implemented by redesigning the electrode pattern on an insulating substrate separate from the thin film mirror. Test results from a pull-only circular mirror with a single actuator are presented as a proof of concept for low voltage actuation of a low-stress SixNy flexible membrane. The SixNy which forms the membrane is under tensile stress. This tensile stress increase the voltage required for deflection of the membrane, but insures a linear relationship between the center deflection of the mirror and the applied pressure. This should significantly simplify the controls algorithm required for closed-loop operation of this device.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 November 1993
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 1945, Space Astronomical Telescopes and Instruments II, (1 November 1993); doi: 10.1117/12.158786
Show Author Affiliations
Linda M. Miller, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Michael L. Agronin, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Randall K. Bartman, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
William J. Kaiser, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Thomas W. Kenny, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Robert L. Norton, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Erika C. Vote, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1945:
Space Astronomical Telescopes and Instruments II
Pierre Y. Bely; James B. Breckinridge, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top