Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Design of a new 1-5.5-um infrared camera for the NASA Infrared Telescope Facility
Author(s): John T. Rayner; Mark A. Shure; Douglas W. Toomey; Peter M. Onaka; Anthony J. Denault; Werner E. Stahlberger; Darryl Y. Watanabe; K. Criez; Louis Robertson; Daniel Cook; Michael J. Kidger
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The design of a multipurpose 1 - 5.5 micrometers infrared camera (NSFCAM) for the NASA Infrared Telescope Facility (IRTF) on Mauna Kea, Hawaii, is described. The camera is built around the new 256 X 256 InSb array manufactured by Santa Barbara Research Center (SBRC) and incorporates a variety of observing modes to fulfill its role as a major facility instrument. These include three remotely-selectable image scales, a selection of fixed bandpass filters, R equals 50 - 100 spectral resolution circularly variable filters, a grism, coronographic masks, and a polarization imaging capability. Through the use of flexible array clocking schemes, driven by programmable digital signal processors (DSPs), we plan to implement several new operating modes, including real-time shift and add for image stabilization, and fast subarray readouts for occultations. Simultaneous optical and infrared imaging of the same field will be possible through the use of a cold dichroic beamsplitter. This feature is primarily intended for use with the IRTF tip-tilt image stabilization system currently being built. Given a suitable guide star, the camera should achieve near-diffraction limited imaging at 2 - 5 micrometers . In this paper we discuss the design of the optics, cryogenic, electronics and software needed to provide the camera with these capabilities.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 October 1993
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 1946, Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation, (20 October 1993); doi: 10.1117/12.158701
Show Author Affiliations
John T. Rayner, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Mark A. Shure, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Douglas W. Toomey, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Peter M. Onaka, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Anthony J. Denault, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Werner E. Stahlberger, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Darryl Y. Watanabe, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
K. Criez, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Louis Robertson, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Daniel Cook, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Michael J. Kidger, Kidger Optics Ltd. (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1946:
Infrared Detectors and Instrumentation
Albert M. Fowler, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top