Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Repetitive compact flash x-ray generators for soft radiography
Author(s): Eiichi Sato; Arimitsu Shikoda; Shingo Kimura; Michiaki Sagae; Teiji Oizumi; Kei Takahashi; Yasuomi Hayasi; Tetsuo Shoji; Koro Shishido; Yoshiharu Tamakawa; Toru Yanagisawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The construction and the fundamental studies for the repetitive flash x-ray generators designed by Japan Impulse Laboratory in Iwate Medical University are described. These generators are classified to the following two major types: (1) generators having diodes, and (2) generators having triodes. In order to generate high-voltage impulses, we employed the following transmission lines (pulsers): (a) high-voltage-inversion type with a maximum output voltage Vom of about 80 kV, (b) high-voltage- inversion type having a coaxial cable (Vom equals 130 kV), (c) two-stage Marx pulser (Vom equals 150 kV), (d) two-cable-type Blumlein (Vom equals 120 kV), (e) modified Blumlein (Vom equals 120 kV), (f) fundamental transmission line for triode (Vom equals 100 kV), and (g) transmission line for an enclosed triode (Vom equals 100 kV). Using these generators we succeeded in performing high-speed radiography as follows: (a) delayed radiography; (b) multiple-shot radiography; and (c) cineradiography.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 January 1993
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 1801, 20th International Congress on High Speed Photography and Photonics, (1 January 1993); doi: 10.1117/12.145817
Show Author Affiliations
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Arimitsu Shikoda, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Shingo Kimura, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Michiaki Sagae, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Teiji Oizumi, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Kei Takahashi, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Yasuomi Hayasi, Hachinohe National College of Technology (Japan)
Tetsuo Shoji, Tohoku Gakuin Univ. (Japan)
Koro Shishido, Tohoku Gakuin Univ. (Japan)
Yoshiharu Tamakawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)
Toru Yanagisawa, Iwate Medical Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1801:
20th International Congress on High Speed Photography and Photonics
John Marks Dewey; Roberto G. Racca, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top