Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Multi-Spectral Solar Telescope Array V: Temperature diagostic response to the optically thin solar plasma
Author(s): Craig Edward DeForest; Charles C. Kankelborg; Maxwell J. Allen; Elizabeth S. Paris; Thomas D. Willis; Joakim F. Lindblom; Ray H. O'Neal; Arthur B. C. Walker; Troy W. Barbee; Richard B. Hoover; Troy W. Barbee III
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We have developed compact soft x-ray, extreme ultraviolet (EUV), and far-ultraviolet (FUV) multilayer coated telescopes for the study of the solar chromosphere, corona, and corona/solar wind interface. Because these systems operate at short wavelengths (~40 Å < λ < 1550 Å), the modest apertures of 40 to 127 mm allow observations at very high angular resolution (0.1 to 0.7 arcsec). In addition to permitting traditional normal incidence optical configurations (such as Cassegrain, Ritchey-Chrétien, and Herschelian configurations) to be used at soft x-ray/EUV wavelengths, multilayer coatings also allow a narrow wavelength band (λ/Δλ ~ 15 - 100) to be selected for imaging. The resulting telescopes provide a very powerful and flexible diagnostic instrument for the study of both the fine-scale structure of the chromosphere/corona interface and the large-scale structure of the corona and corona/solar wind interface. In previous papers, we have described a new solar rocket payload, the Multi-Spectral Solar Telescope Array (MSSTA), which is composed of 17 of these compact telescopes. In the present paper, we report on the ability of the MSSTA payload to obtain temperature diagnostic information about the optically thin solar plasma. We also discuss applications of this information to studies of coronal structure.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 August 1991
PDF: 9 pages
Opt. Eng. 30(8) doi: 10.1117/12.55911
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 30, Issue 8
Show Author Affiliations
Craig Edward DeForest, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Charles C. Kankelborg, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Maxwell J. Allen, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Elizabeth S. Paris, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Thomas D. Willis, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Joakim F. Lindblom, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Ray H. O'Neal, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Arthur B. C. Walker, Stanford Univ. (United States)
Troy W. Barbee, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Richard B. Hoover
Troy W. Barbee III, Univ. of California/Berkeley (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top