Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Camera of the Infrared Space Observatory
Author(s): Catherine J. Cesarsky; Jean-Francois Bonnal; Olivier Boulade; Jacky B. Cretolle; Daniele Imbault; Jacques Lapegue; Yvon Rio; Andre Roy; Laurent G. Vigroux; Francois Sibille; Gerard Epstein; Francois Lacombe; Pascal Puget; Daniel Rouan; Olivier Saint-Pe; Didier Tiphene; Diego A. Cesarsky; Michel Perault; Alain Soufflot; John K. Davies; Terry Purkins; H. Lennart Nordh; Goran Olofsson; Giulio Ventura
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

The Infrared Space Observatory (ISO) camera (ISOCAM) is designed to map selected regions of the sky in the spectral region from 2.5 to 17 μm at various spatial and spectral resolutions and at high sensitivity (at >4 μm, <1 mJy/10 s in 200 5). It will make images, within the 3-arcmin field of view of the ISO telescope, with two 32 x 32 IR array detectors: an InSb charge injection device (CID) for the 2.5- to 5.5-μm range and a Si:Ga direct voltage readout for the 4- to 17-μm range. Four different pixel fields of view are available on each channel: 1.5, 3, 6, and 12 arcsec. The spectral range can be selected in each channel by a set of about 10 fixed bandpass filters (resolution from 2 to 100) and continuous variable filters (resolution ≈45); polarization measurements are possible as well. A very wide range of astrophysical problems can be tackled with ISOCAM. We present a brief description of the program planned by the ISOCAM team.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 March 1994
PDF: 11 pages
Opt. Eng. 33(3) doi: 10.1117/12.155390
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 33, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Catherine J. Cesarsky, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Jean-Francois Bonnal, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Olivier Boulade, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Jacky B. Cretolle, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Daniele Imbault, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Jacques Lapegue, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Yvon Rio, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Andre Roy, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Laurent G. Vigroux, Service d'Astrophysique (France)
Francois Sibille, Observatoire de Lyon (France)
Gerard Epstein, Observatoire de Meudon (France)
Francois Lacombe, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Pascal Puget, Observatoire de Meudon (France)
Daniel Rouan, Observatoire de Meudon (France)
Olivier Saint-Pe, Observatoire de Meudon (France)
Didier Tiphene, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Diego A. Cesarsky, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale (France)
Michel Perault, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale (France)
Alain Soufflot, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale (France)
John K. Davies, Royal Observatory Edinburgh (United Kingdom)
Terry Purkins, Royal Observatory Edinburgh (United Kingdom)
H. Lennart Nordh, Stockholm Observatory (Sweden)
Goran Olofsson, Stockholm Observatory (Sweden)
Giulio Ventura, TESRE (Italy)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top