Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Performance limitations of temperature–emissivity separation techniques in long-wave infrared hyperspectral imaging applications
Author(s): Michael L. Pieper; Dimitris Manolakis; Eric Truslow; Thomas W. Cooley; Michael Brueggeman; John Jacobson; Andrew Weisner
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Accurate estimation or retrieval of surface emissivity from long-wave infrared or thermal infrared (TIR) hyperspectral imaging data acquired by airborne or spaceborne sensors is necessary for many scientific and defense applications. This process consists of two interwoven steps: atmospheric compensation and temperature–emissivity separation (TES). The most widely used TES algorithms for hyperspectral imaging data assume that the emissivity spectra for solids are smooth compared to the atmospheric transmission function. We develop a model to explain and evaluate the performance of TES algorithms using a smoothing approach. Based on this model, we identify three sources of error: the smoothing error of the emissivity spectrum, the emissivity error from using the incorrect temperature, and the errors caused by sensor noise. For each TES smoothing technique, we analyze the bias and variability of the temperature errors, which translate to emissivity errors. The performance model explains how the errors interact to generate temperature errors. Since we assume exact knowledge of the atmosphere, the presented results provide an upper bound on the performance of TES algorithms based on the smoothness assumption.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 May 2017
PDF: 11 pages
Opt. Eng. 56(8) 081804 doi: 10.1117/1.OE.56.8.081804
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 56, Issue 8
Show Author Affiliations
Michael L. Pieper, Northeastern Univ. (United States)
Dimitris Manolakis, MIT Lincoln Lab. (United States)
Eric Truslow, MIT Lincoln Lab. (United States)
Thomas W. Cooley, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Michael Brueggeman, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (United States)
John Jacobson, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (United States)
Andrew Weisner, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top