Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

LINC-NIRVANA for the large binocular telescope: setting up the world’s largest near infrared binoculars for astronomy
Author(s): Ralph Hofferbert; Harald Baumeister; Thomas Bertram; Jürgen Berwein; Peter Bizenberger; Armin Böhm; Michael Böhm; José Luis Borelli; Matthieu Brangier; Florian Briegel; Albert R. Conrad; Fulvio De Bonis; Roman Follert; Thomas M. Herbst; Armin Huber; Frank Kittmann; Martin Kürster; Werner Laun; Ulrich Mall; Daniel Meschke; Lars Mohr; Vianak Naranjo; Aleksei Pavlov; Jorg-Uwe Pott; Hans-Walter Rix; Ralf-Rainer Rohloff; Eva Schinnerer; Clemens Storz; Jan Trowitzsch; Zhaojun Yan; Xianyu Zhang; Andreas Eckart; Matthew Horrobin; Steffen Rost; Christian Straubmeier; Imke Wank; Jens Zuther; Udo Beckmann; Claus Connot; Matthias Heininger; Karl-Heinz Hofmann; Tim Kroner; Edmund Nussbaum; Dieter Schertl; Gerd P. Weigelt; Maria Bergomi; Alessandro Brunelli; Marco Dima; Jacopo Farinato; Demetrio Magrin; Luca Marafatto; Roberto Ragazzoni; Valentina Viotto; Carmelo Arcidiacono; Giovanni Bregoli; Paolo Ciliegi; Giuseppe Cosentino; Emiliano Diolaiti; Italo Foppiani; Matteo Lombini; Laura Schreiber; Francesco D'Alessio; Gianluca Li Causi; Dario Lorenzetti; Fabrizio Vitali; Mario Bertero; Patrizia Boccacci; Andrea La Camera
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

LINC-NIRVANA (LN) is the near-infrared, Fizeau-type imaging interferometer for the large binocular telescope (LBT) on Mt. Graham, Arizona (elevation of 3267 m). The instrument is currently being built by a consortium of German and Italian institutes under the leadership of the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy in Heidelberg, Germany. It will combine the radiation from both 8.4 m primary mirrors of LBT in such a way that the sensitivity of a 11.9 m telescope and the spatial resolution of a 22.8 m telescope will be obtained within a 10.5×10.5 arcsec 2 scientific field of view. Interferometric fringes of the combined beams are tracked in an oval field with diameters of 1 and 1.5 arcmin. In addition, both incoming beams are individually corrected by LN’s multiconjugate adaptive optics system to reduce atmospheric image distortion over a circular field of up to 6 arcmin in diameter. A comprehensive technical overview of the instrument is presented, comprising the detailed design of LN’s four major systems for interferometric imaging and fringe tracking, both in the near infrared range of 1 to 2.4 μm, as well as atmospheric turbulence correction at two altitudes, both in the visible range of 0.6 to 0.9 μm. The resulting performance capabilities and a short outlook of some of the major science goals will be presented. In addition, the roadmap for the related assembly, integration, and verification process are discussed. To avoid late interface-related risks, strategies for early hardware as well as software interactions with the telescope have been elaborated. The goal is to ship LN to the LBT in 2014.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 February 2013
PDF: 15 pages
Opt. Eng. 52(8) 081602 doi: 10.1117/1.OE.52.8.081602
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 52, Issue 8
Show Author Affiliations
Ralph Hofferbert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Harald Baumeister, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Thomas Bertram, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jürgen Berwein, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Peter Bizenberger, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Armin Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Michael Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
José Luis Borelli, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Matthieu Brangier, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Florian Briegel, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Albert R. Conrad, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Fulvio De Bonis, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Roman Follert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Thomas M. Herbst, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Armin Huber, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Frank Kittmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Martin Kürster, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Werner Laun, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Ulrich Mall, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Daniel Meschke, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Lars Mohr, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Vianak Naranjo, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Aleksei Pavlov, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jorg-Uwe Pott, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Hans-Walter Rix, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Ralf-Rainer Rohloff, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Eva Schinnerer, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Clemens Storz, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jan Trowitzsch, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Zhaojun Yan, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Xianyu Zhang, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Andreas Eckart, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Matthew Horrobin, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Steffen Rost, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Christian Straubmeier, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Imke Wank, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Jens Zuther, Univ. zu Köln (Germany)
Udo Beckmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Claus Connot, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Matthias Heininger, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Karl-Heinz Hofmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Tim Kroner, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Edmund Nussbaum, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Dieter Schertl, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Gerd P. Weigelt, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (Germany)
Maria Bergomi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Alessandro Brunelli, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Marco Dima, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Jacopo Farinato, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Demetrio Magrin, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Luca Marafatto, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Roberto Ragazzoni, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Valentina Viotto, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova (Italy)
Carmelo Arcidiacono, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Giovanni Bregoli, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Paolo Ciliegi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Giuseppe Cosentino, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Emiliano Diolaiti, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Italo Foppiani, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Matteo Lombini, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Laura Schreiber, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna (Italy)
Francesco D'Alessio, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Gianluca Li Causi, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Dario Lorenzetti, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Fabrizio Vitali, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma (Italy)
Mario Bertero, Univ. degli Studi di Genova (Italy)
Patrizia Boccacci, Univ. degli Studi di Genova (Italy)
Andrea La Camera, Univ. degli Studi di Genova (Italy)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top