Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Femtosecond laser lithography technique for submicron T-gate fabrication on positive photoresist
Author(s): Yan-Dong Du; Wei-Hua Han; Wei Yan; Xiao-Na Xu; Yan-Bo Zhang; Xiao-dong Wang; Fu-Hua Yang; Hong-Zhong Cao; Feng Jin; Xian-Zi Dong; Zhen-Sheng Zhao; Xuan-Ming Duan; Yang Liu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Femtosecond lasers have been found suitable for maskless photolithography with submicron resolution, which is very attractive for solving the problem of high photomask cost. Direct femtosecond laser writing of lithographic patterns is reported with submicron feature width on thin positive photoresist film. We use a scanning electron microscope to investigate the feature sizes of femtosecond laser lithography, which are determined by the incident laser power, the number of scan times and the substrate materials. Submicron T-shaped gates have been fabricated using a two-step process of femtosecond laser lithography where the gate foot and head can be separately defined on positive AZ4620 photoresist film. This work has led to the stable fabrication of sub-300 nm T-gates on the samples of GaN on sapphire substrate and AlGaN/GaN on Si substrate.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 May 2012
PDF: 6 pages
Opt. Eng. 51(5) 054303 doi: 10.1117/1.OE.51.5.054303
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 51, Issue 5
Show Author Affiliations
Yan-Dong Du, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Wei-Hua Han, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Wei Yan, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Xiao-Na Xu, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Yan-Bo Zhang, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Xiao-dong Wang, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Fu-Hua Yang, Institute of Semiconductors (China)
Hong-Zhong Cao, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (China)
Feng Jin, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (China)
Xian-Zi Dong, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (China)
Zhen-Sheng Zhao, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (China)
Xuan-Ming Duan, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (China)
Yang Liu, Sun Yat-Sen Univ. (China)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top