Share Email Print

Optical Engineering

Minimizing the wavefront error degradation for primary mirror segments with failed hexapod actuators
Author(s): Jessica A. Gersh-Range; Erin M. Elliott; Marshall D. Perrin; Roeland P. van der Marel
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The performance of a segmented space telescope depends in part upon the ability to maintain the alignment and phasing of its primary mirror segments. Failures of segment control actuators pose a threat to mission success, but their effects can be mitigated by using the remaining segment actuators to optimize the pose of each affected segment. This paper considers the effect of actuator failures on the final wavefront error of a segmented space telescope whose primary mirror consists of 18 hexagonal segments, each controlled by a 3-6 hexapod. Optimization algorithms that minimize the wavefront error for single- and multiple-failure cases are developed, and simulation results are presented. When one actuator fails, the affected segment can still attain a pose with zero wavefront error by exploiting the rotational symmetry of the primary. When two actuators fail, the resulting wavefront error depends upon which hexapod legs fail and at what lengths; cases where both legs of a bipod fail are an order of magnitude worse than other cases. Finally, Monte Carlo simulations of many failures randomly distributed across an initially well-phased segmented primary show that more than 10% of the actuators must fail before the root-mean-square wavefront error degrades significantly.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 February 2012
PDF: 13 pages
Opt. Eng. 51(1) 011005 doi: 10.1117/1.OE.51.1.011005
Published in: Optical Engineering Volume 51, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Jessica A. Gersh-Range, Cornell Univ. (United States)
Erin M. Elliott, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Marshall D. Perrin, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Roeland P. van der Marel, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top