Share Email Print

Journal of Photonics for Energy • new

Graphene-based copper oxide thin film nanostructures as high-efficiency photocathode for p-type dye-sensitized solar cells
Author(s): Bayrum Kilic; Sunay Turkdogan; Aykut Astam; Sümeyra Seniha Baran; Mansur Asgin; Hülya Cebeci; Deniz Urk
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Graphene-based p-type dye-sensitized solar cells (p-DSSCs) have been proposed and fabricated using copper oxide urchin-like nanostructures (COUN) as photocathode with an FeS 2 counter electrode (CE). COUN composed of Cu 2 O core sphere and CuO shell nanorods with overall diameters of 2 to 4    μ m were grown by a simple hydrothermal method with self-assemble nucleation. It was figured out that the formation of copper oxide core/shell structures could be adjusted by an ammonia additive leading to pH change of the precursor solution. In addition to a photocathode, we also demonstrated FeS 2 thin films as an efficient CE material alternative to the conventional Pt CEs in DSSCs. FeS 2 nanostructures, with diameters of 50 to 80 nm, were synthesized by a similar hydrothermal approach. FeS 2 nanostructures are demonstrated to be an outstanding CE material in p-DSSCs. We report graphene/COUN as photocathode and Pt / FeS 2 as CE in p-DSSCs, and results show that the synergetic combination of electrodes in each side (increased interconnectivity between COUN and graphene layer, high surface area, and high catalytic activity of FeS 2 ) increased the power conversion efficiency from 1.56% to 3.14%. The excellent performances of COUN and FeS 2 thin film in working and CEs, respectively, make them unique choices among the various photocathode and CE materials studied.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 October 2017
PDF: 11 pages
J. Photon. Energy 7(4) 045502 doi: 10.1117/1.JPE.7.045502
Published in: Journal of Photonics for Energy Volume 7, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
Bayrum Kilic, Yalova Univ. (Turkey)
Sunay Turkdogan, Yalova Univ. (Turkey)
Aykut Astam, Erzincan Univ. (Turkey)
Sümeyra Seniha Baran, Yalova Univ. (Turkey)
Mansur Asgin, Yalova Univ. (Turkey)
Hülya Cebeci, Istanbul Technical Univ. (Turkey)
Deniz Urk, Istanbul Technical Univ. (Turkey)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top