Share Email Print

Journal of Photonics for Energy

Investigation of organic semiconductor interlayers in hybrid PEDOT:PSS/silicon solar cells
Author(s): Martin Weingarten; Thorsten Zweipfennig; Simon Sanders; Dominik Stümmler; Pascal Pfeiffer; Andrei Vescan; Holger Kalisch
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In the last years, hybrid organic/inorganic solar cells have attracted great interest in photovoltaic research due to their expected potential to combine the advantages of both material classes, the excellent electrical properties and stability of the inorganic and the low-cost processability of the organic semiconductors. This work is focused on hybrid solar cells based on n-doped crystalline Si as the inorganic and the polymer poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene):poly(styrenesulfonate) as the organic part of the device. The hole-conducting organic semiconductors poly(3-hexylthiophene-2,5-diyl) (P3HT) and 2,2′,7,7′-Tetrakis[N,N-di(4-methoxyphenyl)amino]-9,9′-spirobifluorene (Spiro-MeOTAD) are investigated as electron blocking interlayers to reduce the parasitic electron current into the metal top contact and thereby increase the efficiency of the solar cell. In this context, P3HT is identified to be insufficient as an interlayer material due to unfavorable hysteresis effects. On the other hand, for solar cells with a Spiro-MeOTAD interlayer, the power conversion efficiency (PCE) is significantly increased. This is mainly attributed to an increased short-circuit current density. For the best performing device, a PCE of 14.3% is achieved, which is one of the highest values reported for this type of hybrid solar cells so far.

Paper Details

Date Published: 7 November 2016
PDF: 8 pages
J. Photon. Energy 6(4) 045503 doi: 10.1117/1.JPE.6.045503
Published in: Journal of Photonics for Energy Volume 6, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
Martin Weingarten, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)
Thorsten Zweipfennig, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)
Simon Sanders, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)
Dominik Stümmler, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)
Pascal Pfeiffer, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)
Andrei Vescan, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)
Holger Kalisch, RWTH Aachen Univ. (Germany)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top