Share Email Print

Journal of Nanophotonics

Terahertz magneto-spectroscopy of a point contact based on CdTe/CdMgTe quantum well
Author(s): Ignas Grigelionis; Marcin Białek; Marian Grynberg; Magdalena Czapkiewicz; Valery Kolkovskiy; Maciej Wiater; Tomasz Wojciechowski; Jerzy Wróbel; Tomasz Wojtowicz; Nina Diakonova; Wojciech Knap; Jerzy Łusakowski
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

To understand a terahertz (THz) response of a point contact device, a number of samples based on CdTe/CdMgTe quantum wells grown by a molecular beam epitaxy were investigated at low temperatures and high magnetic fields. The experiments involved magneto-transport, photocurrent, and transmission measurements carried out with monochromatic THz sources or a Fourier spectrometer. Samples of different geometry with and without gate metallization were used. We observed excitations of a two-dimensional electron plasma in the form of optically induced Shubnikov-de Haas oscillations, cyclotron resonance transitions, and magneto-plasmon resonances. A polaron effect was observed at magnetic fields higher than 10 T. A point contact device processed with an electron beam lithography was investigated as a detector of THz radiation. It was shown that the main mechanism responsible for a THz performance of the point contact was excitation of magneto-plasmons with a wavevector defined by geometrical constrictions of the device mesa.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 March 2015
PDF: 8 pages
J. Nanophoton. 9(1) 093082 doi: 10.1117/1.JNP.9.093082
Published in: Journal of Nanophotonics Volume 9, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Ignas Grigelionis, Univ. of Warsaw (Poland)
Marcin Białek, Univ. of Warsaw (Poland)
Marian Grynberg, Univ. of Warsaw (Poland)
Magdalena Czapkiewicz, The Institute of Physics (Poland)
Valery Kolkovskiy, The Institute of Physics (Poland)
Maciej Wiater, The Institute of Physics (Poland)
Tomasz Wojciechowski, The Institute of Physics (Poland)
Jerzy Wróbel, The Institute of Physics (Poland)
Rzeszów Univ. (Poland)
Tomasz Wojtowicz, The Institute of Physics (Poland)
Nina Diakonova, Univ. Montpellier 2 (France)
Wojciech Knap, Univ. Montpellier 2 (France)
Jerzy Łusakowski, Univ. of Warsaw (Poland)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top