Share Email Print

Journal of Nanophotonics

Vapor and liquid optical monitoring with sculptured Bragg microcavities
Author(s): Manuel Oliva-Ramirez; Jorge Gil-Rostra; Maria Carmen López-Santos; Agustín R. González-Elipe; Francisco Yubero
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Sculptured porous Bragg microcavities (BMs) formed by the successive stacking of columnar SiO 2 and TiO 2 thin films with a zig-zag columnar microstructure are prepared by glancing angle deposition. These BMs act as wavelength-dependent optical retarders. This optical behavior is attributed to a self-structuration of the stacked layers involving the lateral association of nanocolumns in the direction perpendicular to the main flux of particles during the multilayer film growth, as observed by focused ion beam scanning electron microscopy. The retardance of these optically active BMs can be modulated by dynamic infiltration of their open porosity with vapors, liquids, or solutions with different refractive indices. The tunable birefringence of these nanostructured photonic systems has been successfully simulated with a simple model that assumes that each layer within the BMs stack has uniaxial birefringence. The sculptured BMs have been incorporated as microfluidic chips for optical transduction for label-free vapor and liquid sensing. Several examples of the detection performance of these chips, working either in reflection or transmission configuration, for the optical monitoring of vapor and liquids of different refractive indices and aqueous solutions of glucose flowing through the microfluidic chips are described.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 November 2017
PDF: 10 pages
J. Nanophoton. 11(4) 046009 doi: 10.1117/1.JNP.11.046009
Published in: Journal of Nanophotonics Volume 11, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
Manuel Oliva-Ramirez, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Sevilla (Spain)
Jorge Gil-Rostra, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Sevilla (Spain)
Maria Carmen López-Santos, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Sevilla (Spain)
Agustín R. González-Elipe, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Sevilla (Spain)
Francisco Yubero, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Sevilla (Spain)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top