Share Email Print

Journal of Nanophotonics

Antiferromagnetic transition in graphene functionalized with nitroaniline
Author(s): Anton A. Komlev; Tatiana L. Makarova; Erkki Lahderanta; Petr V. Semenikhin; Anatoly I. Veinger; Igor V. Kochman; Giacomo Magnani; Giovanni Bertoni; Daniele Pontiroli; Mauro Riccó
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Magnetic properties of graphene nanostructures functionalized with aromatic radicals were investigated by electron spin resonance (ESR) and superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) techniques. Three types of functionalized graphene samples were investigated (functionalization was performed by 4-bromoaniline, 4-nitroaniline, or 4-chloroaniline). According to SQUID measurements, in case of functionalization by nitroaniline, sharp change in temperature dependence of magnetic susceptibility was observed near 120 K. Such behavior was explained as antiferromagnetic ordering. The same but more extended effect was observed in ESR measurements below 160 K. In the ESR measurements, only one resonance line with g -factor equal to 2.003 was observed. Based on the temperature dependencies of spin concentration and resonance position and intensity, the effect was explained as antiferromagnetic ordering along the extended defects on the basal planes of the graphene.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 April 2017
PDF: 8 pages
J. Nanophoton. 11(3) 032512 doi: 10.1117/1.JNP.11.032512
Published in: Journal of Nanophotonics Volume 11, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Anton A. Komlev, Lappeenranta Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Saint Petersburg State Electrotechnical Univ. (Russian Federation)
Tatiana L. Makarova, Lappeenranta Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Ioffe Institute (Russian Federation)
Erkki Lahderanta, Lappeenranta Univ. of Technology (Finland)
Petr V. Semenikhin, Ioffe Institute (Russia)
Anatoly I. Veinger, Ioffe Institute (Russia)
Igor V. Kochman, Ioffe Institute (Russia)
Giacomo Magnani, Univ. degli Studi di Parma (Italy)
Giovanni Bertoni, Istituto dei Materiali per l'Elettronica ed il Magnetismo (Italy)
Daniele Pontiroli, Univ. degli Studi di Parma (Italy)
Mauro Riccó, Univ. degli Studi di Parma (Italy)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top