Share Email Print

Journal of Nanophotonics

Supramolecular organization of pi-conjugated molecules monitored by single-walled carbon nanotubes
Author(s): Laurent Alvarez; Yann Almadori; Anouar Belhboub; Rozenn Le Parc; Raymond Aznar; Philippe Dieudonné-George; Abdelali Rahmani; Patrick Hermet; Frédéric Fossard; Annick Loiseau; Bruno Jousselme; Stéphane Campidelli; Takeshi Saito; Guillaume Wang; Jean-Louis Bantignies
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Photoactive pi-conjugated molecules (quaterthiophene and phthalocyanine) are either encapsulated into the hollow core of single-walled carbon nanotubes or noncovalently stacked at their outer surface in order to elaborate hybrid nanosystems with new physical properties, providing practical routes to fit different requirements for potential applications. We are interested in the relationship between the structure and the optoelectronic properties. The structural properties are investigated mainly by x-ray diffraction and/or transmission electron microscopy and Raman spectroscopy. We show that the supramolecular organizations of confined quaterthiophenes depend on the nanocontainer size, whereas phthalocyanine encapsulation leads to the formation of a one-dimensional phase for which the angle between the molecule ring and the nanotube axis is close to 32 deg. Confined phthalocyanine molecules display Raman spectra hardly altered with respect to the bulk phase, suggesting a rather weak interaction with the tubes. In contrast, the vibrational properties of the molecules stacked at the outer surface of tubes display important modifications. We assume a significant curvature of the phthalocyanine induced by the interaction with the tube walls and a change of the central atom position within the molecular ring, in good agreement with our density functional theory calculations.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 November 2015
PDF: 9 pages
J. Nanophoton. 10(1) 012514 doi: 10.1117/1.JNP.10.012514
Published in: Journal of Nanophotonics Volume 10, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Laurent Alvarez, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)
Yann Almadori, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)
Anouar Belhboub, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)
Univ. Moulay Ismaïl (Morocco)
Rozenn Le Parc, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)
Raymond Aznar, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)
Philippe Dieudonné-George, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)
Abdelali Rahmani, Univ. Moulay Ismaïl (Morocco)
Patrick Hermet, Institut Charles Gerhardt Montpellier (France)
Frédéric Fossard, Laboratoire d’étude des Microstructures (France)
Annick Loiseau, ONERA (France)
Bruno Jousselme, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Stéphane Campidelli, CEA-IRAMIS (France)
Takeshi Saito, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan)
Guillaume Wang, Univ. Paris 7-Denis Diderot (France)
Jean-Louis Bantignies, Lab. Charles Coulomb (France)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top