Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Transmission electron microscope calibration methods for critical dimension standards
Author(s): Ndubuisi G. Orji; Ronald G. Dixson; Domingo I. Garcia-Gutierrez; Benjamin D. Bunday; Michael Bishop; Michael W. Cresswell; Richard A. Allen; John A. Allgair
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

One of the key challenges in critical dimension (CD) metrology is finding suitable dimensional calibration standards. The transmission electron microscope (TEM), which produces lattice-resolved images having scale traceability to the SI (International System of Units) definition of length through an atomic lattice constant, has gained wide usage in different areas of CD calibration. One such area is critical dimension atomic force microscope (CD-AFM) tip width calibration. To properly calibrate CD-AFM tip widths, errors in the calibration process must be quantified. Although the use of TEM for CD-AFM tip width calibration has been around for about a decade, there is still confusion on what should be considered in the uncertainty analysis. We characterized CD-AFM tip-width samples using high-resolution TEM and high angle annular dark field scanning TEM and two CD-AFMs that are implemented as reference measurement systems. The results are used to outline how to develop a rigorous uncertainty estimate for TEM/CD-AFM calibration, and to compare how information from the two electron microscopy modes are applied to practical CD-AFM measurements. The results also represent a separate validation of previous TEM/CD-AFM calibration. Excellent agreement was observed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 October 2016
PDF: 10 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. 15(4) 044002 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.15.4.044002
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 15, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
Ndubuisi G. Orji, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)
Ronald G. Dixson, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)
Domingo I. Garcia-Gutierrez, Univ. Autónoma de Nuevo León (México)
Benjamin D. Bunday, SUNY Poly SEMATECH (United States)
Michael Bishop, Consultant (United States)
Michael W. Cresswell, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)
Richard A. Allen, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States)
John A. Allgair, AWG (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top