Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Organometallic carboxylate resists for extreme ultraviolet with high sensitivity
Author(s): James Passarelli; Michael Murphy; Ryan Del Re; Miriam M. Sortland; Jodi Hotalen; Levi Dousharm; Roberto Fallica; Yasin Ekinci; Mark Neisser; Daniel A. Freedman; Robert L. Brainard
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We have developed organometallic carboxylate compounds [RnM(O2CR′)2] capable of acting as negative-tone extreme ultraviolet (EUV) resists. The most sensitive of these resists contain antimony, three R-groups and two carboxylate groups, and carboxylate groups with polymerizable olefins (e.g., acrylate, methacrylate, or styrenecarboxylate). Evidence suggests that high sensitivity is achieved through the polymerization of olefins in the exposed region. We have performed a systematic sensitivity study of the molecules of the type RnM(O2CR′)2 where we have studied seven R groups, four main group metals (M), and three polymerizable carboxylate groups (O2CR′). The sensitivity of these resists was evaluated using Emax or dose to maximum resist thickness after exposure and development. We found that the greatest predictor of sensitivity of the RnSb(O2CR′)2 resists is their level of polymerizable olefins. We mathematically define the polymerizable olefin loading (POL) as the ratio of the number of olefins versus the number of nonhydrogen atoms. Linear and log plots of Emax versus POL for a variety of molecules of the type R3Sb(O2CR′)2 lend insight into the behavior of these resists.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 October 2015
PDF: 10 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 14(4) 043503 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.14.4.043503
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 14, Issue 4
Show Author Affiliations
James Passarelli, SUNY CNSE/SUNYIT (United States)
Michael Murphy, SUNY CNSE/SUNYIT (United States)
Ryan Del Re, SUNY CNSE/SUNYIT (United States)
Miriam M. Sortland, SUNY CNSE/SUNYIT (United States)
Jodi Hotalen, SUNY Polytechnic Institute (United States)
Levi Dousharm, SUNY CNSE/SUNYIT (United States)
Roberto Fallica, Paul Scherrer Institut (Switzerland)
Yasin Ekinci, Paul Scherrer Institute (Switzerland)
Mark Neisser, SUNY Poly SEMATECH (United States)
Daniel A. Freedman, State Univ. of New York at New Paltz (United States)
Robert L. Brainard, SUNY CNSE/SUNYIT (United States)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top