Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Scaling-down lithographic dimensions with block-copolymer materials: 10-nm-sized features with poly(styrene)-block-poly(methylmethacrylate)
Author(s): Xavier Chevalier; Célia Nicolet; Raluca Tiron; Ahmed Gharbi; Maxime Argoud; Jonathan Pradelles; Michael Delalande; Gilles Cunge; Guillaume Fleury; Georges Hadziioannou; Christophe Navarro
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Poly(styrene)-block-poly(methylmethacrylate) (PS-b-PMMA) block-copolymers (BCP) systems synthesized on an industrial scale and satisfying microelectronic’s requirements for metallic contents specifications are studied in terms of integration capabilities for lithographic applications. We demonstrate in particular that this kind of polymer can efficiently achieve periodic features close to 10 nm. These thin films can be transferred in various substrates through dry-etching techniques. The self-assembly optimization for each polymer is first performed on freesurface, leading to interesting properties, and the changes in self-assembly rules for low molecular-weight polymers are investigated and highlighted through different graphoepitaxy approaches. The improvements in self-assembly capabilities toward low periodic polymers, as well as the broad range of achievable feature sizes, make the PS-b-PMMA system very attractive for lithographic CMOS applications. We conclude by showing that high-χ polymer materials developed in Arkema’s laboratories can be efficiently used to reduce the pattern’s size beyond the ones of PS-b-PMMA based BCP’s capabilities.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 July 2013
PDF: 10 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 12(3) 031102 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.12.3.031102
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 12, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Xavier Chevalier, CEA-LETI-Minatec (France)
Célia Nicolet, Arkema S.A. (France)
Raluca Tiron, CEA-LETI-Minatec (France)
Ahmed Gharbi, CEA-LETI-Minatec (France)
Maxime Argoud, CEA-LETI-Minatec (France)
Jonathan Pradelles, CEA-LETI-Minatec (France)
Michael Delalande, Lab. des Technologies de la Microélectronique (France)
Gilles Cunge, Lab. des Technologies de la Microélectronique (France)
Guillaume Fleury, Univ. Bordeaux 1 (France)
Georges Hadziioannou, Univ. Bordeaux 1 (France)
Christophe Navarro, Arkema S.A. (France)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top