Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Microassembly process to fabricate a microoptoelectromechanical systems scanning mirror with angular vertical comb electrodes
Author(s): Min-Ho Jun; Seunghwan Moon; Jong-Hyun Lee
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present a simple microassembly technology that easily realizes angular vertical combs for a microoptoelectromechanical systems scanner. The scanner is composed of a device section with comb electrodes and a tilting section with four tapered pillars. During the microassembly process, two tilting pillars push down the levers so that the comb electrodes connected with the micromirror are tilted; the other two alignment pillars fit into the alignment holes of the device section, which is fabricated via a deep reactive ion etching process of a silicon-on-insulator wafer. The tilting section is fabricated through a series of anisotropic wet etching of a (100) silicon wafer and patterning processes of SU-8, which is robust enough to ensure repeatability of the initial tilted angles of the movable comb electrodes. The pull-in investigation function is analyzed through a numerical estimation to obtain a large scan angle with stable behavior. The fabricated microscanner shows an optical scan angle of up to 4.23 deg at 90 V in the static mode and stable actuation of up to 11.3 deg at a resonant frequency of 2.87 kHz. The roughness of the mirror surface is less than 10 nm, which will have a negligible effect on imaging quality. The initial tilted angles in the microassembly process showed high repeatability within 10% error.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 February 2013
PDF: 9 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 12(1) 013006 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.12.1.013006
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 12, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Min-Ho Jun, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology (Korea, Republic of)
Seunghwan Moon, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology (Korea, Republic of)
Jong-Hyun Lee, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology (Korea, Republic of)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top