Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Nanopatterning of diblock copolymer directed self-assembly lithography with wet development
Author(s): Makoto Muramatsu; Mitsuaki Iwashita; Takahiro Kitano; Takayuki Toshima; Mark H. Somervell; Yuriko Seino; Daisuke Kawamura; Masahiro Kanno; Katsutoshi Kobayashi; Tsukasa Azuma
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

A method for using wet development in a directed self-assembly lithography (DSAL) application is reported. For the typical diblock copolymer poly(styrene-block-methyl methacrylate) (PS-b-PMMA), the PMMA area is removed by an oxygen plasma. However, the oxygen plasma has poor selectivity for the PS portion of the block polymer and etches it simultaneously. As a result, the thickness of the residual PS pattern is thinner than desired and creates a challenge for subsequent pattern transfer. A wet development technique is discussed which offers higher selectivity between the PMMA and PS blocks in the assembled pattern. Specifically, a method using a low pressure mercury lamp and conventional tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH, 2.38%) developer is proposed. Using this method, DSA pattern formation is completed in a single track having coating, baking, exposure, and development modules.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 July 2012
PDF: 7 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 11(3) 031305 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.11.3.031305
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 11, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Makoto Muramatsu, Tokyo Electron Kyushu Ltd. (Japan)
Mitsuaki Iwashita, Tokyo Electron AT Ltd. (Japan)
Takahiro Kitano, Tokyo Electron Kyushu Ltd. (Japan)
Takayuki Toshima, Tokyo Electron Kyushu Ltd. (Japan)
Mark H. Somervell, Tokyo Electron America, Inc. (United States)
Yuriko Seino, Toshiba Corp. (Japan)
Daisuke Kawamura, Toshiba Corp. (Japan)
Masahiro Kanno, Toshiba Corp. (Japan)
Katsutoshi Kobayashi, Toshiba Corp. (Japan)
Tsukasa Azuma, Toshiba Corp. (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top