Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

New type of discharge-produced plasma source for extreme ultraviolet based on liquid tin jet electrodes
Author(s): Konstantin Koshelev; Vladimir M. Krivtsun; Vladimir Ivanov; Oleg F. Yakushev; Alexey Chekmarev; Vsevolod Koloshnikov; Evegenii P. Snegirev; Viacheslav Medvedev
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

A new approach for discharge-produced plasma (DPP) extreme ultraviolet (EUV) sources based on the usage of two liquid metallic alloy jets as discharge electrodes has been proposed and tested. Discharge was ignited using laser ablation of one of the cathode jets. A system with two jet electrodes was tested at a repetition rate of 1 to 5 kHz with dissipated electrical power up to 20 kW. Radiating spectra, time characteristics, and conversion efficiency are similar to conventional DPP schemes with rotating wheels. In the first experiments, the Ga:Sn eutectic alloy, which is liquid at room temperature, was circulating in a closed loop. The high velocity of the jets (30  m/s) ensures a renewed electrode surface for every shot, for a repetition rate frequency of up to 30 to 50 kHz, and provides effective heat transportation from the discharge zone. Modeling and experiments demonstrate that the proposed scheme is able to dissipate up to 200 kW of electrical power without overheating the nozzles and tin surface. It was found that the flexible electrode configuration allows the channeling of essential parts of debris plasma in directions opposite to the EUV collector.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 May 2012
PDF: 7 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 11(2) 021103 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.11.2.021103
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 11, Issue 2
Show Author Affiliations
Konstantin Koshelev, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Vladimir M. Krivtsun, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Vladimir Ivanov, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Oleg F. Yakushev, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Alexey Chekmarev, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Vsevolod Koloshnikov, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Evegenii P. Snegirev, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)
Viacheslav Medvedev, Institute of Spectroscopy (Russian Federation)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top