Share Email Print

Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS

Hydrogen silsesquioxane resist stamp for replication of nanophotonic components in polymers
Author(s): Muhammad Rizwan Saleem; Petri Antero Stenberg; Seppo K. Honkanen; Jari Turunen; Muhammad Bilal Khan; Zaffar Muhammad Khan
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We investigate an affordable, accurate and large-scale production method to fabricate subwavelength grating structures by hot embossing replication in polycarbonate substrates. We use inorganic hydrogen silsesquioxane (HSQ), a high resolution, binary, negative electron beam resist, on silicon substrate to make a stamp for replication. The stamp is fabricated without any etching processes and with simple process steps. The process starts by spin coating an HSQ-resist layer on a silicon substrate. The desired film thickness is achieved by adjusting the spinning speed and time. The resist material is then subjected to e-beam writing and development followed by a heat treatment to enhance the hardness and to obtain hot embossing stamp material properties comparable with solid SiO2. A comparison with and without the silicon etching is also performed. We demonstrate that a high quality stamp for thermal nano-imprint lithography for optical gratings can be fabricated using an inexpensive process without an etching step. The process results in a uniform imprinting density over the entire grating surface and high imprint fidelity. The reflectance spectra of replicated grating structures are also shown to be in agreement with theoretical calculations.

Paper Details

Date Published: 2 March 2012
PDF: 8 pages
J. Micro/Nanolith. MEMS MOEMS 11(1) 013007 doi: 10.1117/1.JMM.11.1.013007
Published in: Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS Volume 11, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Muhammad Rizwan Saleem, Univ. of Eastern Finland (Finland)
Petri Antero Stenberg, Univ. of Eastern Finland (Finland)
Seppo K. Honkanen, Univ. of Eastern Finland (Finland)
Jari Turunen, Univ. of Eastern Finland (Finland)
Muhammad Bilal Khan, National Univ. of Sciences and Technology (Pakistan)
Zaffar Muhammad Khan, National Univ. of Sciences and Technology (Pakistan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top