Share Email Print

Journal of Electronic Imaging

Automatic barcode recognition method based on adaptive edge detection and a mapping model
Author(s): Hua Yang; Lianzheng Chen; Yifan Chen; Yong Lee; Zhouping Yin
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

An adaptive edge detection and mapping (AEDM) algorithm to address the challenging one-dimensional barcode recognition task with the existence of both image degradation and barcode shape deformation is presented. AEDM is an edge detection-based method that has three consecutive phases. The first phase extracts the scan lines from a cropped image. The second phase involves detecting the edge points in a scan line. The edge positions are assumed to be the intersecting points between a scan line and a corresponding well-designed reference line. The third phase involves adjusting the preliminary edge positions to more reasonable positions by employing prior information of the coding rules. Thus, a universal edge mapping model is established to obtain the coding positions of each edge in this phase, followed by a decoding procedure. The Levenberg–Marquardt method is utilized to solve this nonlinear model. The computational complexity and convergence analysis of AEDM are also provided. Several experiments were implemented to evaluate the performance of AEDM algorithm. The results indicate that the efficient AEDM algorithm outperforms state-of-the-art methods and adequately addresses multiple issues, such as out-of-focus blur, nonlinear distortion, noise, nonlinear optical illumination, and situations that involve the combinations of these issues.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 September 2016
PDF: 16 pages
J. Electron. Imag. 25(5) 053019 doi: 10.1117/1.JEI.25.5.053019
Published in: Journal of Electronic Imaging Volume 25, Issue 5
Show Author Affiliations
Hua Yang, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology (China)
Lianzheng Chen, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology (China)
Yifan Chen, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology (China)
Yong Lee, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology (China)
Zhouping Yin, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology (China)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top