Share Email Print

Journal of Electronic Imaging

Comparative evaluation of the image-reconstruction algorithms of single-shot phase-shifting digital holography
Author(s): Tatsuki Tahara; Yuki Shimozato; Takashi Kakue; Motofumi Fujii; Xia Peng; Yasuhiro Awatsuji; Shogo Ura; Kenzo Nishio; Toshihiro Kubota; Osamu Matoba
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

We comparatively evaluated two types of image-reconstruction algorithms in two types of single-shot phase-shifting digital holography techniques to investigate which algorithm is more suitable for high-quality and instantaneous three-dimensional imaging. Two types of image-reconstruction algorithms were proposed for each single-shot phase-shifting interferometry so far. One generates multiple phase-shifted holograms from the recorded single hologram by utilizing interpolation and derives the complex amplitude of the object wave by applying the calculation of phase-shifting interferometry to the multiple phase-shifted holograms. The other does not use interpolation but applies the calculation of phase-shifting interferometry to the neighboring pixels in the recorded hologram to derive the complex amplitude. We experimentally evaluated the qualities of the image reconstructed by the algorithms in each single-shot phase-shifting technique. It was clarified that the former algorithm is more effective for high-quality imaging free from the unwanted images in single-shot technique using an array of optical elements. In single-shot technique using spatial carrier, although the latter algorithm is able to reconstruct a brighter image for wide area than the former, spatial-filtering technique is needed for removing the conjugate image.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 April 2012
PDF: 11 pages
J. Electron. Imag. 21(1) 013021 doi: 10.1117/1.JEI.21.1.013021
Published in: Journal of Electronic Imaging Volume 21, Issue 1
Show Author Affiliations
Tatsuki Tahara, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Yuki Shimozato, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Takashi Kakue, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Motofumi Fujii, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Xia Peng, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Yasuhiro Awatsuji, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Shogo Ura, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Kenzo Nishio, Kyoto Institute of Technology (Japan)
Toshihiro Kubota, Kubota Holography Laboratory Corp. (Japan)
Osamu Matoba, Kobe Univ. (Japan)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top