Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics • Open Access

Photoacoustic imaging of angiogenesis in a subcutaneous islet transplant site in a murine model
Author(s): Wei Shi; Rena Pawlick; Antonio Bruni; Yasmin Rafiei; Andrew R. Pepper; Boris Gala Lopez; Min Choi; Andrew Malcolm; Roger J. Zemp; A. M. James Shapiro

Paper Abstract

Islet transplantation (IT) is an established clinical therapy for select patients with type-1 diabetes. Clinically, the hepatic portal vein serves as the site for IT. Despite numerous advances in clinical IT, limitations remain, including early islet cell loss posttransplant, procedural complications, and the inability to effectively monitor islet grafts. Hence, alternative sites for IT are currently being explored, with the subcutaneous space as one potential option. When left unmodified, the subcutaneous space routinely fails to promote successful islet engraftment. However, when employing the previously developed subcutaneous “deviceless” technique, a favorable microenvironment for islet survival and function is established. In this technique, an angiocatheter was temporarily implanted subcutaneously, which facilitated angiogenesis to promote subsequent islet engraftment. This technique has been employed in preclinical animal models, providing a sufficient means to develop techniques to monitor functional aspects of the graft such as angiogenesis. Here, we utilize photoacoustic imaging to track angiogenesis during the priming of the subcutaneous site by the implanted catheter at 1 to 4 weeks postcatheter. Quantitative analysis on vessel densities shows gradual growth of vasculature in the implant position. These results demonstrate the ability to track angiogenesis, thus facilitating a means to optimize and assess the pretransplant microenvironment.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 June 2016
PDF: 6 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 21(6) 066003 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.21.6.066003
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 21, Issue 6
Show Author Affiliations
Wei Shi, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Rena Pawlick, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Antonio Bruni, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Yasmin Rafiei, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Andrew R. Pepper, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Boris Gala Lopez, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Min Choi, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Andrew Malcolm, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Roger J. Zemp, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
A. M. James Shapiro, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top