Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Fluorescence lifetime of normal, benign, and malignant thyroid tissues
Author(s): Mariana Brandao; Ricardo Iwakura; Fagne Basilio; Kaique Haleplian; Amando Ito; Luiz Carlos Conti de Freitas; Luciano Bachmann
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Fine-needle aspiration cytology is the standard technique to diagnose thyroid pathologies. However, this method results in a high percentage of inconclusive and false negatives. The use of time-resolved fluorescence techniques to detect biochemical composition and tissue structure alterations could help to develop a portable, minimally invasive, and nondestructive method to assist during surgical procedures. This study aimed to use fluorescence lifetimes to differentiate healthy and benign tissues from malignant thyroid tissue. The thyroid tissue was excited at 298–300 nm and the fluorescence decay registered at 340 and 450 nm. We observed fluorescence lifetimes at 340 nm emission of 0.80±0.26 and 3.94±0.47  ns for healthy tissue; 0.90±0.24 and 4.05±0.46  ns for benign lesions; and 1.21±0.14 and 4.63±0.25  ns for malignant lesions. For 450 nm emissions, we obtain lifetimes of 0.25±0.18 and 3.99±0.39  ns for healthy tissue, 0.24±0.17 and 4.20±0.48  ns for benign lesions, 0.33±0.32 and 4.55±0.55  ns for malignant lesions. Employing analysis of variance, we differentiate malignant lesions from benign and healthy tissues. In addition, we use quadratic discriminant analysis to distinguish malignant from benign and healthy tissues with an accuracy of 76.1%, sensitivity of 74.7%, and specificity of 83.3%. These results indicate that time-resolved fluorescence can assist medical evaluation of thyroid pathologies during surgeries.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 June 2015
PDF: 6 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 20(6) 067003 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.20.6.067003
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 20, Issue 6
Show Author Affiliations
Mariana Brandao, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)
Ricardo Iwakura, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)
Fagne Basilio, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)
Kaique Haleplian, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)
Amando Ito, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)
Luiz Carlos Conti de Freitas, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)
Luciano Bachmann, Univ. de São Paulo (Brazil)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top