Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics • Open Access

Fluorescence lifetime imaging ophthalmoscopy in type 2 diabetic patients who have no signs of diabetic retinopathy
Author(s): Dietrich Schweitzer; Lydia Deutsch; Matthias Klemm; Susanne Jentsch; Martin Hammer; Sven Peters; Jens Haueisen; Ulrich A. Müller; Jens Dawczynski

Paper Abstract

The time-resolved autofluorescence of the eye is used for the detection of metabolic alteration in diabetic patients who have no signs of diabetic retinopathy. One eye from 37 phakic and 11 pseudophakic patients with type 2 diabetes, and one eye from 25 phakic and 23 pseudophakic healthy subjects were included in the study. After a three-exponential fit of the decay of autofluorescence, histograms of lifetimes τi, amplitudes αi, and relative contributions Qi were statistically compared between corresponding groups in two spectral channels (490, 560). The change in single fluorophores was estimated by applying the Holm–Bonferroni method and by calculating differences in the sum histograms of lifetimes. Median and mean of the histograms of τ2, τ3, and α3 in ch1 show the greatest differences between phakic diabetic patients and age-matched controls (p<0.000004). The lack of pixels with a τ2 of ∼360  ps, the increased number of pixels with τ2<450  ps, and the shift of τ3 from ∼3000 to 3700 ps in ch1 of diabetic patients when compared with healthy subjects indicate an increased production of free flavin adenine dinucleotide, accumulation of advanced glycation end products (AGE), and, probably, a change from free to protein-bound reduced nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide at the fundus. AGE also accumulated in the crystalline lens.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 March 2015
PDF: 13 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 20(6) 061106 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.20.6.061106
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 20, Issue 6
Show Author Affiliations
Dietrich Schweitzer, Universitätsklinikum Jena (Germany)
Lydia Deutsch, Universitätsklinikum Jena (Germany)
Matthias Klemm, Technische Univ. Ilmenau (Germany)
Susanne Jentsch, Universitätsklinikum Jena (Germany)
Martin Hammer, Universitätsklinikum Jena (Germany)
Sven Peters, Universitätsklinikum Jena (Germany)
Jens Haueisen, Technische Univ. Ilmenau (Germany)
Ulrich A. Müller, Universitätsklinikum Jena (Germany)
Jens Dawczynski, Univ. Hospital Leipzig (Germany)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top