Share Email Print

Journal of Biomedical Optics

Differential in vivo urodynamic measurement in a single thin catheter based on two optical fiber pressure sensors
Author(s): Sven Poeggel; Dineshbabu Duraibabu; Daniele Tosi; Gabriel Leen; Elfed Lewis; Deirdre McGrath; Ferdinando Fusco; Simone Sannino; Laura Lupoli; Juliet Ippolito; Vincenzo Mirone
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $20.00 $25.00

Paper Abstract

Urodynamic analysis is the predominant method for evaluating dysfunctions in the lower urinary tract. The exam measures the pressure during the filling and voiding process of the bladder and is mainly interested in the contraction of the bladder muscles. The data arising out of these pressure measurements enables the urologist to arrive at a precise diagnosis and prescribe an adequate treatment. A technique based on two optical fiber pressure and temperature sensors with a resolution of better than 0.1  cm H2O (∼10  Pa), a stability better than 1  cm H2O/hour, and a diameter of 0.2 mm in a miniature catheter with a diameter of only 5 Fr (1.67 mm), was used. This technique was tested in vivo on four patients with a real-time urodynamic measurement system. The optical system presented showed a very good correlation to two commercially available medical reference sensors. Furthermore, the optical urodynamic system demonstrated a higher dynamic and better sensitivity to detect small obstructions than both pre-existing medical systems currently in use in the urodynamic field.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 March 2015
PDF: 9 pages
J. Biomed. Opt. 20(3) 037005 doi: 10.1117/1.JBO.20.3.037005
Published in: Journal of Biomedical Optics Volume 20, Issue 3
Show Author Affiliations
Sven Poeggel, Univ. of Limerick (Ireland)
Dineshbabu Duraibabu, Univ. of Limerick (Ireland)
Daniele Tosi, Univ. of Limerick (Ireland)
Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)
Gabriel Leen, Univ. of Limerick (Ireland)
Elfed Lewis, Univ. of Limerick (Ireland)
Deirdre McGrath, Univ. of Limerick (Ireland)
Ferdinando Fusco, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)
Simone Sannino, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)
Laura Lupoli, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)
Juliet Ippolito, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)
Vincenzo Mirone, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top